Posted on Leave a comment

You can Soon Clear History on Chrome’s Incognito Mode

Google Chrome is adding a “clear history” option to incognito mode. When you are in incognito mode, Chrome does not save your browsing history. The “clear history” link will simply close all the open incognito windows.

Chrome Incognito
Chrome Incognito

Enable clear browsing data dialog in Incognito

When you use Chrome’s incognito mode on Android, you will notice a notification that closes all the incognito tabs with a single tap. Looks like Google is adding a similar feature to the desktop version of Chrome as well.

A new experimental flag that I spotted today in the Chromium code adds a “clear browsing data” dialog in incognito. When you are in incognito mode, Chrome does not save your browsing history. So this dialog will simply close all the open incognito windows.

Here is the new flag:

Enable clear browsing data dialog in Incognito: When enabled, clear browsing data option would be enabled in Incognito which upon clicking would show a dialog to close all Incognito windows.

I am hoping to see this new feature in action with the next Canary channel update. Come back here in a day or two for screenshots.

Source: Chromium Gerrit.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *